Cut, Cut, Cut You Up.

16 May

**Kudos to anyone who instantly thought of AFI upon reading my title.**

DSC_0185(Giraffes)

So, let me just say, I friggin’ love this fabric! Once again, I went into Joann’s with one thing in mind and have come out with something completely different. Maybe one day I will make a garment with something other than quilting fabric. I just can’t help but fall in love with all of the fun prints.

DSC_0217(No Giraffes)

Not only is this fabric amazing, but this pattern (Simplicity 1803) is pretty great too. I found it when looking for a more versatile pattern that was fun and interesting, but that was still basic enough to use as more of a sloper when needed. The pattern worked up pretty quickly and easily. I did have a little trouble with the fit in the bust being slightly too big. After doing a little research, it seems that this is a common issue. Unfortunately, I did what I do best and way over did the “fix”. In trying to take it in and fix it, I ended up taking in way too much. To fix my fix, I had to let out the darts in the back, which is quite unfortunate as it would have looked much nicer and more professional (who am I kidding; I threw professionalism out the window when I chose to use fabric covered in scissors.).

DSC_0201I made scissor earrings to match.

Other than the bust issue, this dress is great, and I absolutely love how it turned out (The inner seams are the cleanest I’ve ever achieved. Thank goodness for sergers!). I can’t wait to make another. I may even use big girl fabric. I’ve got to learn to sew with something other than basic cotton some time, right? I did learned how to use bias tape to finish the sleeve edges. I’m pretty excited about this. I’ve never seemed to be able to get the arm holes of sleeveless clothing to look nice, but I think I’ve found my go-to method. I also did my first lapped zipper. I’m still not sure how I feel about it though. It didn’t really feel any easier than the way I usually do it, and it didn’t look any better either. Maybe I just need practice.

P.S. I’m about to start working on designing a 40s style dress for a contest with Shabby Apple. I’m pretty excited about it. I’ll keep you posted. I also have a fun little side project I’ve been working on with a dear friend. More on that later, as well.

DSC_0216This is Princess. She is old, fat, and cranky, but I love her dearly.

Love,

Jess

Leave a Reply

