Promises, Promises

15 May

So… I’ve really got to step up my game! I have had my dress for April finished for 3 weeks, but it is currently May 15th, and I am just now getting around to posting it. One of these days I will get it together and post when I promise.

With that out of the way, let’s talk about the dress, shall we. I wanted to make a dress with a little bit of old school charm so I used the Simplicity pattern 2692, and make some changes to give it a some pizzazz since the pattern itself was a little plain. Although, the fabric is so fabulous that it would be impossible to be boring.

I made two changes to the pattern, one intentional and one not so intentional. For the intentional change, I added a front panel, which was pleated at the top and cut to curve and allow the main panel to peak out.

For the not so intentional change, I switched the sleeves from full sleeves to bands, mostly because I messed the sleeves up. It worked out in my favor though, because it looks quite a bit better this way. The band sleeves give it a much nicer vintage feel, which is what I was looking for anyways.

Oh yeah…I also added white piping to the waist band, which looks great, but made putting in the zipper and matching the sides up properly extremely difficult and frustrating. Speaking of the zipper, I should have made it longer, extending up through the bodice. As it is now, there is not enough give to make the dress easy to get on. In fact, it is mighty difficult to get on and off.

My next project, which I shall not promise to have finished so as to not disappoint, will be a reconstruction using a tutorial from Max California. She is really cool, and always has the most awesome hair.

P.S. In my last post I mentioned a need to paint. Well, I finally got the guts to paint something. Here it is, in case your curious.

One Response to “Promises, Promises”

  1. Brandon David Brungard May 15, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

    I like what you did with the picture! Also, when you said you wanted to add some ‘pizzazz’ I read ‘pizza’. Which I suppose wouldn’t be that out of the ordinary.. coming from you. 😛

Leave a Reply

