Lesson Learned

28 Mar

So, I never really did get around to snapping some awesome photographs of February’s Santa Fe dress. However, someone else did.

While out and about, exploring Savannah, Ga. on a little vacation I was approached by a quite fashionable young man who asked if he might snap some photographs of me in my Santa Fe dress, holding my brand new parasol (covered in dragons, a nod to my youth’s obsession) for his fashion blog. I must say, I felt pretty cool.

*Photo by Cedric Smith 2012

http://www.yourewelcomesavannah.com/2012/03/out-and-about-calhoun-square.html

I urge you to check out his blog!

On to March’s garment, which I would say was a good effort. I wanted to make a pair of fancy shorts with a scalloped edge. What I ended up making was a pair of shorts, which are about a size to small for me. Alas, this means no photographs of me wearing them.

*I have a love of fun tights, as you can see here with my lime green/black strips.

I, unfortunately, did not make a muslin first, nor did I bother to try on the shorts prior to finishing them. I actually cut the pattern to a size bigger than my normal pant size, figuring that, since it is a junior’s pattern, it would either fit, or be too big, which is something I could fix. I’ve learned my lesson. No more assumptions in the fitting department. Time to break out the measuring tape and actually use it.

(However, I still will not be making muslins first. I get far too antsy to start and finish a project for that!) I may try my hand at some shorts again, but using a different pattern, which I happen to know fits, given I used it to make a pair of pants once before.

The shorts turned out well, regardless of the sizing issue. It was only the second time I have ever made pants with a zipper/fly. My work is not exactly that of a professional, but it is still pretty darn good!

The only other thing I’ve noted, after seeing the photographs I took is that I need to figure out how to tighten the surged stitches, as I can see the stitches through the front of the shorts.

In other news, I just finished reading, The Fault in our Stars, by John Green. It is a book about a young lady who is remarkably like myself in how she thinks and acts (except that she has cancer, and I, thankfully, do not). The boyfriend suggested I read it because of this. I suggest that you should read it, because it’s awesome. I promise you will find yourself laughing and crying.

P.S. Given my failure to post properly in February and my failed attempt at shorts in March, I am going to make a dreadfully great effort to make something great in April.

Also, I bought a canvas and some acrylic paints a while back, but have not had the guts to paint anything yet for fear of messing it up. (Canvases are quite expensive!) Any good subject ideas for a beginner would be so very much appreciated.

Love,

Jess

Leave a Reply

