Not exactly a dress, but still a snazzy little creation.

4 Mar

So, first thing’s first. It is only March, and I have already slipped up…..sort of. I did in fact make a dress in February, and I have worn it twice already. I have not, however, photographed myself in it to share with the world. I promise to have the photographs of February’s dress, the Santa Fe dress, as well as March’s dress before March actually ends.

As a way to apologize for my lag time, I am going to share with you the bird-cage veil that I have created for my sister-in-law.

For this veil, I used a simple, but great tutorial by Megan of the blog Designs by Megan Turnidge (http://www.designsbymeganturnidge.com/blog/), and after only one failed attempt, I have what I think is a great and dramatic bandeau style bird-cage veil.

I used black french netting along with a large pre-assembled flower (I figured if I was good enough at making these, I could work on making my own flowers later.) as well as some mini-versions of the large flower. I was going to add some little red beads, but I thought that might be a tad too much, so I nixed that idea. I prefer the simpler look for this, I think.

I am completely confident that she will love it. Why might you ask? Well, I know this because I have fallen in love with it. It is amazing how wearing something like this can make a person feel timeless and bold! Wearing this, I feel like a movie star, not that that is something I have ever aspired to be, but it sure is great a feeling every now and again.

P.S. Off topic but, I have recently developed a love of vanilla flavored soda. It is quite delicious, and if you have not tried it, you must go out at once and do so!

Also, I really like the word snazzy (I got it from Grandma Fischer), so you are most likely going to see it used in this blog quite frequently. Maybe the word will grow on you like it did me, and let me tell you, that is not such a bad thing. It’s a great little word!

Love,

Jess

One Response to “Not exactly a dress, but still a snazzy little creation.”

  1. Ree and Bub March 4, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    I love it Sis!!! It is exactly how I pictured it in my mind and it means so much more that someone so near and dear to my heart took the time to do this for me!!! I love you soooo much and I can’t wait to wear it on the day I say “Forever and Always” (again) with your Big Brother!!!

Leave a Reply

