Snazzy Duds

9 Jan

For my very first garment of the year, and consequently very first garment post, I wanted to go with something easy, just to get into the swing of things. I used a Simplicity pattern 2190. I chose to do view A, the dress, but used the cutout shoulders of the shirt; otherwise, it would be quite boring. And I try to look snazzy, not boring.

This pattern was super simple, in the way that only a beginner can really appreciate. I had the dress finished in a matter of a couple of hours.  I did learn how to do super simple banding, which I had yet to experience in my previous sewing escapades. I had some crazy notion that it was so difficult. After working on this project, I found my personal myth to be busted. (Sorry, I’ve been watching a large amount of Mythbusters lately.)

The only real issue I had with the pattern was that the neckband piece was too short. It looks fine, aside from having two seam lines instead of just one. Honestly, the neckband not being long enough may have been my fault anyways.

One thing you will learn about me is that I never follow all the rules of sewing. I have never made a muslin first, I have only used interfacing maybe three times in my sewing career, I do not cut out notches fifty percent of the time, and I skip steps generally whenever possible.  I know, you’re thinking, “this girl, she is such a rebel!”.

In the case of this pattern, it stated that it was specifically designed for stretch knit fabrics, and I used quilting cotton fabric. I have an attraction to quilting cotton fabric. The designs are so much more fun and interesting than apparel fabric. That’s why I chose to use it for this project. The only knits I could find were plain colors and children’s designs (Think big giant cupcakes all over. Cute, but maybe more appropriate for pjs).

And with that, the finished product.

      The wrinkles are not part of the design. They are simply a result of sitting in a movie theater for 2.5 hrs.

I am quite please with how it turned out. It has a nice Asian/Mod feel to it. I love the way the design of the fabric really works with this pattern. I was a little worried when I chose it that it would not look right.  I pretty much always wear black. I’m just not used to wearing anything with brown or white, and this fabric has both! Gasp!

Gratuitous silly face, plus you get the added pleasure of seeing some of my watercolor paintings!

P.S. I would love your feedback on any of the snazzy duds I make, so please feel free to comment. Constructive criticism is always welcome!

Love,

Jess

One Response to “Snazzy Duds”

  1. Brandon January 9, 2012 at 1:09 am #

    Very good first post. I’m so proud of you and your brown-wearing-ness – you’ve grown! And I get the first comment award! muahahahah triple win.

Leave a Reply

